The Pursuit of Purpose

One of the most perplexing questions that most of us have ever thought or asked ourselves is , “What is my purpose?”. I mean why am I even here and what am I supposed to be doing with my life?

As a teenager that was unwilling to trust or accept direction from anyone, the lack of purpose in my life led me down a path of self-destruction. The lack of goals and purpose cost me years of frustrations. Oh, how I wish I knew then what I know now!

Somewhere in my messed up young adult years, in walks – Jesus. Oh How precious is that name! After reaching the end of myself, I realized that if I wanted to, I could do great things. I just had to walk in what God wanted for me.

I will be 39 at the end of this month and while I haven’t accomplished much, I’ve accomplished more than I even thought I could! I have worked in corporate America, traveled a little, run businesses, written books, had babies and became a homemaker. But even after all of that, the most fulfilling thing I have ever done was help someone else get free from the entanglement of sin.

Any company that I have worked for I found it best to make their company goal my own. If it was their goal to upsell an item, I focused on perfecting the upsell. If it was the company’s goal to retain employees – I helped them to retain employees. If the company determined that the bottom line was the most important, I helped them cut costs. It’s what made me a successful employee or manager.

You see, likewise, when I laid down my life and picked up Jesus’ cross, I started to pursue, the purpose God had for me. His purpose became mine. His purpose is has been the same from day one – Relationship with mankind without the pollution of sin.

For this purpose He came to the earth.

For this purpose He was persecuted.

For this purpose He died.

For this purpose He rose from death.

For this purpose He saved you and I so that we could have a life more abundantly and share it with others.

After Jesus was resurrected, he gave a charge to His followers that is now referred to as “The Great Commission.”

16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Matthew 28:16-20 King James Version

He says to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me (Jesus)” and charges his disciples to go and make more disciples of all nationalities, baptizing them in the name (singular) of the Father and the name of the Son and the name of the Holy Spirit. We know from the fulfillment of this scripture in Acts 2:38, that name is Jesus.

This commission was Jesus‘ purpose and that he passed on to those who chose to follow him. If you are a follower of Christ, I can guarantee that there is no greater purpose in your life than this one! In addition to that, when we pick up His purpose, God gives us more than we could even ask for! God begins to bless the work of our hands because our goal is to bring Him the glory! He is faithful!

24 Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. 25 For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.26 For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?27 For the Son of man shall come in the glory of his Father with his angels; and then he shall reward every man according to his works.

Matthew 16:24-27 King James Version

Leave a comment